Bristol closes out its 30th year of the Little League Baseball Eastern Regional

The Little League Baseball Eastern Regional was moved to Bristol in 1987.
It hasn’t been anywhere else since.
This year is the 30th anniversary of baseball at the Little League Eastern Region Headquarters, with its main diamond at Leon J. Breen Field. The complex itself is known as the A. Bartlett Giamatti Little League Leadership Training Center.
At 1 p.m., Fairfield American of Connecticut faces Warwick North of Rhode Island in the New England final. At 7 p.m., the Mid-Atlantic final pits Maine-Endwell of New York against Keystone of Pennsylvania.
Back in 1987, Dover North of New Hampshire claimed what was then the East Region championship. Teams from Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island and Vermont competed in the regional. 
The first regional champion from Connecticut was the famous Trumbull National team led by Chris Drury of National Hockey League lore. That Trumbull team went on to win the 1989 Little League World Series in Williamsport, Pa.
In 2001, the Little League World Series expanded, and the Eastern Region was split into the New England and Mid-Atlantic regionals. Lincoln of Rhode Island took the New England crown. The original Mid-Atlantic champ was from the Bronx, New York, but its title was later vacated because of the use of ineligible player Danny Almonte. State College American of Pennsylvania is now listed as the Mid-Atlantic champion.
The first Connecticut champion under the new format came in 2008, when Shelton National captured the New England title.
Last year, Cranston Western of Rhode Island was the top team in New England. The Mid-Atlantic’s best was Red Land of Pennsylvania (Lewisberry).
By the end of the day (weather permitting), two more regional champions will be crowned, and the 30th year of Little League Eastern Regional baseball will be completed.

Information for past regional results obtained from This is a great site for comprehensive results of the Eastern Region, before and after it was split into the New England and Mid-Atlantic brackets.