Bristol claims three Class L wrestling titles

There are 14 Class L state champion wrestlers, and three of them reside in Bristol.
Noah Cruz and Krzysztof Nizielski won at 220 and 285 for Bristol Central. For Bristol Eastern, Josh Wilson was the 138-pound champion. 
Wilson bagged the first Bristol championship of the day with a 6-4 decision against Middletown’s Jordan Baker. Cruz won a 17-2 tech fall against E.O. Smith’s Patrick Clarke while Nizielski claimed a 7-4 decision over Fairfield Ludlowe’s Billy Stapleton.
It was a solid effort overall for the Bristol public schools at the two-day meet, which was held at Bristol Central High School. 
For the second straight year, Bristol Eastern took second place behind New Milford. The Lancers scored 188 team points to 219 for the Green Wave. Bristol Central took fifth place with 141.5 points.
Eastern’s Zach Marquis finished second at 182 pounds. Mikey Barrett (152) took third place for the Lancers while Justin Marshall (120), Greg Lozier (145) and Zac Thompson (160) all claimed fourth. Noah Corliss (113) and Luis Rivera Lopez (220) each finished sixth.
Central’s Shane Oxton (145) finished third, Chris Trelli (106) took fifth and Julian Galindez (152) placed sixth.
Next up is the State Open, which takes place this coming Friday and Saturday at the Floyd Little Athletic Center in New Haven.