Holy Cross football program remembers 2006 state title

Holy Cross football came together as a program and a family over the past few days, and it wasn’t just for the Thanksgiving morning clash against Wolcott.
Well, that game is always big for the Crusaders, but there was also an anniversary to celebrate.

Holy Cross football posted this photo on their Twitter account
from the 2006 state championship reunion.

2006 was a special year for the Holy Cross football program. That season, the Crusaders went 12-1 and capped it with a dominating 40-0 win over Stratford at Ken Strong Stadium in West Haven in the Class SS state championship game. It was the first state title in program history.
Dan Mulrooney had an absolutely monster game for Holy Cross. The senior running back ran for 353 yards on 20 carries and scored four touchdowns. Mike Croce tossed touchdowns of 30 and 86 yards to Jerome Mitchell and Anthony Chance.
The defense also stood out in that game. Holy Cross, the top seed, held No. 2 Stratford to a total of 114 yards. Kyle Lagasse had two interceptions while Andrew Fazo and Matt Fazo each had one.
Holy Cross scored 14 points in the first and third quarters, 6 in the second and fourth.
Holy Cross was also dominant in its 49-8 semifinal win over No. 4 Tolland. Mulrooney had three touchdown runs and a punt return for a score. Croce threw a 71-yard touchdown pass to Dan Awwad and a six-yard toss to Dan Crane. Lagasse returned an interception 35 yards for a touchdown. Tolland didn’t score until late.
The lone Holy Cross loss came in the NVL championship game.
The current Crusaders had a Thanksgiving Eve dinner, and Mulrooney and T.J. Campion spoke to the players.

Here are the results from that 2006 season:

at Torrington — 34-0
Crosby — 54-14
at Woodland — 48-7
Watertown — 41-7
Kennedy — 40-16
at Seymour — 40-6
Wilby — 48-27
at Naugatuck — 42-0
Sacred Heart — 35-7
Ansonia — 13-27 (NVL title game)
at Wolcott — 33-6
Tolland — 49-8 (Class SS semifinal)
Stratford — 40-0 (Class SS final)

Holy Cross outscored opponents 415-90 in the regular season. In the playoffs, the Crusaders lit up their foes to a tune of 89-8.

Here is the roster from that title team (via MaxPreps):

Jerome Mitchell
Ta-quon Zimmerman
Justin Barney
Dan Lucia
Conor Berger
Dom Flammia
Larry Hoffler
Michael Croce
Mike Philbin
John Albertini
Rob Pagliaro
Chris Flinter
Matt Brouillard
Adam Zezima
Dan Mulrooney
Andrew Fazo
Ed Thomas
Jeff Scappini
Tim Gaydosh
Ben Ewald
Kyle Lagasse
Christian Cuevas
Cody Dierks
John Fusco
Tim Brady
Kevin Sullivan
Andrew Salcito
Mike Possamato
Doug Breir
Joe Hogerhiede
Dan Diclemente
Tim Bessette
Drew Durant
Zack Syndlar
Sean Muckle
Josh Diaz
Jordan Digiovanni
Andrew Morrone
Brandon Young
Anthony Pennocchio
Steve Czapor
Chris Marino
Chris Swan
Matt Fazo
Chris Boylan
Kevin Lauber
Derek Ward
Obee Byrd
Chris Torello
TJ Campion
Dave Wildman
Rich Marano
Mason Miller
Mike Lasky
Dan Shea
Joe Brown
Steven Whalen
Joe Bocci
Dan Crane
Dan Awwad
Nick Vargoshe
Matt Pakulski
Chris Carmody
Anthony Chance

Coaches (listed on The Zone in a Nov. 26 story)
Mike Phelan
Joe Marino
Mike Diorio
Pete McCasland
Matt Smolley
Mike Mannetti
Mike Giampetruzzi